After breakfast in Swakopmund we hit the road again, driving for a while the landscape drastically changed from sand dunes and sandy mountains to these rugged rocks. On one of our random pitstops it looked like we were on the moon, I ran around a bit (yes like a child) and then packed some rocks on top of each other and started using them as target practice. This soon became the game and everyone got involved, it was fun to just be silly with my parents.

We choose to spend the night in Uis to break up the drive and to be close to our  pitstop for the next day. When we arrived at our accommodation for the night, we were quickly approached by a local trying to sell us colourful stones. When I say quickly I mean none of us were even out of the car.  My dad and I went to the petrol station to fill up the car, once there we saw  a car with no wheels rested on bricks and it seemed the car had been there for quite some time, I’d even bet some money the car no longer had an engine.

We found the town to be rather eery like in one of those Western films where I can imagine a tumble weed would just blow past and the locals sit and wait for who knows what. We spent the evening together in the accomodation playing Scrabble, which quickly became my mom’s favourite game, it might of had something to do with the fact that she kept winning. 

 

I only wished that I wasn’t so sick because there was a swimming pool and it was super hot and all I wanted to do was jump into it. In the evening when we got a bit tired of Scrabble and losing to my mom, so Triin and I walked to the accommodation’s bar, had a beer and played of pool on the L shaped pool table. After a beer I felt even worse and just went to sleep.

The next morning as we got ready to leave, I wondered about how different and at times unforgiving Namibia was. It was facing it’s third year in drought and had many different tribes scattered all of Namibia having to cope in their own ways with the drought. One tribe in particular who is rather fascinating is the Himba tribe who you see every couple of 100km in the middle of nowhere close to literally nothing, surviving.

